Methodist Fight Song

I came across this years ago, but lost it. I thought of it again the other day, and was able to track it down with the help of Google Books and Regenstein Library. This was once published in an actual hymnal. It’s awful. And also kind of awesome.

I am a soldier of the cross,
I count all earthly things but dross;
My soul is bound for endless rest,
I’ll never leave the Methodist.

For a better church cannot be found,
Their doctrine is so pure and sound;
One reason that I’ll give for this,
The Devil hates the Methodist.

They pray the most, they preach the best,
They labor most for endless rest;
I hope my Lord will them increase
And fill the world with Methodist.

The world, the Devil and Tom Pain
Have try’d their best, but all in vain;
They can’t prevail; the reason’s this:
The Lord defends the Methodist.

And when the happy day shall come,
And all the Christians are brought home,
My soul will feast in endless rest
With all the shouting Methodist.

We shout so much for sinners here,
But when in heaven we do appear,
Our shouts will make the heavens ring,
When all the Methodist shall sing.

A Methodist, it is my name,
I hope to live and die the same,
I then with Jesus shall be blest
With his dear loving Methodist.

The Devil, Calvin and Voltaire
May hate the Methodist in vain;
Their doctrine shall be downward hurl’d,
The Methodist will take the world.

(Lifted from George Pullen Jackson, White and Negro Spirituals. New York: J. J. Augustin, 1944. p. 56)

2 Responses to “Methodist Fight Song”

  1. Kyle Says:

    And with that, all of my “recent posts” on the sidebar were made within the last month!

  2. Methodist Fight Song (via Wesley’s Parochial Newsletter) « Michael's Musings Says:

    […] I came across this years ago, but lost it. I thought of it again the other day, and was able to track it down with the help of Google Books and Regenstein Library. This was once published in an actual hymnal. It's awful. And also kind of awesome. I am a soldier of the cross, I count all earthly things but dross; My soul is bound for endless rest, I'll never leave the Methodist. For a better church cannot be found, Their doctrine is so pure and so … Read More […]

Leave a comment